top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmma Vordenbaum

The Importance of the First Pages

There's a new YA book that's created a lot of buzz on my Twitter feed lately, and that book is Sadie by Courtney Summers. It's a murder mystery, and since reading One Of Us Is Lying, I've had pretty high expectations for stories like this. One Of Us Is Lying hooked me in from the very first page, and since then, I expect every murder mystery to start off at the same speed-of-lightning pace. (And I know I'm not the only one who was that impressed by it--I've basically thrown it at all of my friends and they love it just as much as I do!)


When I picked up Sadie, I tried to have average expectations. Sometimes books like this get too much hype, and I am let down when I start reading. But after starting to read Sadie this morning, I can say that I was not let down. And while I haven't finished the book yet (so no, to answer your question, this is not a book review), I can tell you that Summers aced the opening chapters of this book, and here's why:


1. It's unique.

From the first page, you can tell there is something different about this book. And by that, I don't mean a subtle, gut-feeling type of thing. I mean an in-your-face uniqueness. Summers wrote many chapters of this book in the format of a podcast script, including the first one. This book doesn't read like your average YA book at first--it's a little bit different, but just as interesting and incredibly gripping. As a reader, I was drawn in by this abnormal formatting, and I think a lot of readers will be as well.


2. It hits the ground running.

This book doesn't waste a second in getting to the meat of the story--the mystery. West is the host of the podcast, and he jumps right into describing what is going on, where this story takes place, what it's all about. And when we get to Sadie's first chapter right after, it's clear that something is up, and it makes me want to keep turning pages as fast as I can.


3. It raises questions.

I think one of the biggest factors in a book being deemed a "page-turner" is how many questions are raised, how big they are, and how often they arise. After reading the first chapters of this book, I have a dozen questions. Not only do I want to know what happened to Sadie's younger sister, but I want to know what Sadie is up to, or what she is planning. She makes it clear that what she is doing is dangerous and potentially deadly, but she doesn't explain why just yet. Not to mention that West has apparently recorded an entire eight episodes about this mystery, and to record that much, he must have quite a bit of content. I want to know what he knows.


4. Sadie stands out.

Sadie makes some pretty bold moves in the beginning of this book. She's a fiery, stubborn, switchblade-wielding girl who is downright fearless...and if she's isn't fearless, she hides it really well. She's the kind of character I want to read more about, and whatever her mission is, I want to see her carry it out.


It's openings like these that keep readers glued to the pages, and though I'm terrified at how this might end (at this point, I have a feeling it could end badly), there's only one way to find out: keep reading.


If this book sounds at all interesting to you, go grab a copy at the bookstore, your local library, or from a friend who's already got it on their shelf. Happy reading!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page