top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmma Vordenbaum

Writerly Advice From A College Kid

Okay, so I'm young. You may not think I have the greatest writing advice to give, and you may be right. But I've been writing since I was old enough to spell, and I like to think I've learned a few things in my time (especially after the many writing classes I've taken since starting college!).


The truth is that every time I tell someone I'm a writer, I get the same batch of responses, just in different variations (and I think all writers can relate to this). Most people tell me that they "would love to write a book, if they had time" or they've "never finished writing anything they've started" or they "like writing, but aren't very good at it." So this blog post is for anyone who wants to write, but believes that they can't for some reason. What I have to say is:


1. You can write.

If you've ever felt like writing is something you would like to/should do, then you can do it. Whether it's a book or a blog, a short story or a poem, you can do it! Staring at a blank document at your computer can be daunting, so maybe start on paper--write down simple thoughts or ideas that come to mind. List out how you are feeling, jot down things you're passionate about. This can lead to great things. Even if no one ever reads what you've written, and even if you don't think it's any "good," you're still writing, and that's the first step. Which leads me to my next piece of advice...


2. Writing (even "bad" writing) is worth it.

I have written a lot of words in my lifetime, many of which are not "good" writing. In fact, pretty much everything I wrote from seventh grade to my sophomore year of high school was terrible. (And incredibly embarrassing to think about, given how many of my friends and family members read those stories.) But were those old cringe-worthy stories worth my time? Absolutely. Had I not written my four post-apocalyptic middle-grade novels with lots of awkward romance storylines and uncomfortable crying scenes, I would not have gained the foundation I have as a writer today. The way I see it, all writing is practice as well as a form of expression. Both are incredibly valuable and worth every minute spent writing. Speaking of minutes...


3. You have to make time to write.

From what I've seen, this is the toughest part for a lot of people, but it's the only reason I've ever finished a writing project. Writing takes a lot of time, effort, and energy, and you have to be willing to devote your free time to it. This sometimes means sacrificing something else to do it. Maybe don't turn on Netflix tonight and take an hour to write instead. However, I am also a firm believer that it's important to...


4. Consume fiction in all forms.

This has been one of the best things I could do for myself as a writer. There have been countless times when I'm out of inspiration, trapped in writer's block, and I need a boost. I find that boost in books, movies, television, plays, or even graphic novels and video games. It's so important to read (especially in the genre you'd like to write in), but there are dozens of forms of storytelling, and reading/viewing stories told by others can be a great way to fill the well and keep on writing.


It's easy to get caught up in grammar, punctuation, story structure, and all the technical stuff, but every writer starts somewhere, and these bits of advice have helped me a lot in my journey as a writer. I hope they might be able to help you as well!


Happy writing!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page